sometimesmomagrees

There we stood at Claire’s waiting to pay. Giovanna had decided to get her ears pierced and the cashier was explaining to us where she was going to place the care instructions and store phone number in case we had any questions.

pierced

“Do I get holes in my ear mom?” Lea asked.

“Only if you get your ears pierced.” I answered.

“Maybe when you’re older,” said the cashier, “like your big sister!”

“But I don’t want to!” Lea freaked out.

“Lea,” I calmly said, “you don’t have to. If you want to do it, do it; if you don’t want to then don’t. They’re your ears.”

“What a good lesson!” The store manager looked up from her work. “You’re a good mom.”

I smiled, “It’s important to me. I don’t ever want her to feel like she has to do something to please someone and I have to start teaching…

View original post 700 more words

Leave a Reply

